top of page

New PC

Updated: Nov 15, 2020

I haven't upgraded my PC in about 7 years. It wasn't that great when it was new. I decided it was time to build myself a PC worthy of the amount of time I spend using it. So, I ordered a few components.


Turns out, there is a huge shortage of custom computer components because people are just home building computers during covid.

This is the "case", I wanted a white one, but black was all I could get.


Here it is mocked up, and tested on my bench. Runs great, only it's not white. (yes I use calipers and whiskey to build a PC)

Next, I did what every person would do who is building their own pc. I sand blasted, powder coated/painted the entire thing white.


don't have many pictures of the powder coating process, but it worked GREAT. I see myself doing much much more of that. I need a bigger oven..

I had to disassemble part of the motherboard so that I could paint the heat shields white. This pc is liquid cooled, you can see the radiator below. It works just like a car. Liquid is pumped by the water pump (big glass thing in the middle), it runs over the CPU and pulls the heat away from it, then goes into the radiator, where the radiator itself and the fans help dissipate the heat.

Next I had to custom bend all the tubing for the liquid with a heat gun. It was an interesting process, I eventually figured it out.


Once all the tubes were bent, I had to leak test it. The fluid is blue, so it would have been super easy to catch a leak. It did not leak. The little propeller thing at the top, is an indicator to let you know the liquid is flowing.


Here it is in action. Still have some work to do. The water lines aren't perfect. I'm waiting on a part for the video card, so that I can include it in the cooling loop. I need to clean up the cables and few other things. You get the idea.




bottom of page